Breakthrough

413 prize winners 2016

Yesterday, we received our academic awards that we had earned in 2015 at the Annual NYGH Prize-Giving Ceremony. I am elated to have received Top in level for Social Studies & Geography in Sec 4, 2015 and the Colours award for outstanding performance in Wushu during the National Inter-School competition, 2015.

I am proud to announce that I was given the Colours Award for Wushu throughout my 4 years in NYGH. I am extremely grateful to the coaches for not giving up on me and my teachers for being patient with me when I needed help with catching up on my schoolwork. Thank you to the other parents and my friends, for watching out for me and helping me whenever I faced difficulties.

As a DSA student, I was never really a motivated student academic-wise and often got depressed easily due to my results. I failed my promos in sec 1 and had to take the foundation assessment before I could qualify for sec 2. In sec 2 I made an improvement, even though it was a borderline pass promo. Now, I have achieved academic excellence and this is a breakthrough to me that I have to thank my family, teacher and friends. They stood by me even in my hardest times, filling me up with encouragement and determination, fuelling my flame. These awards have proven that my efforts have been recognised by Nanyang Girls’ High School and Singapore Sports Council.

To all the students out there facing difficulties, don’t give up or else it’s game over. Just keep trying!! I believe that the struggle you’re in today is developing the strength you need tomorrow.

I would like to end off with a quote:

Our greatest weakness lies in giving up. The most certain way to succeed to just to try one more time.” -Thomas A. Edison

One thought on “Breakthrough

  1. Congratulations on your achievements! You’re right, “the struggle you’re in today is developing the strength you need tomorrow”. This is just a prep for a bigger one. Don’t give up. The exact meaning of failure is by means of not trying and not losing at a certain competition.

    Hoping to read more from you in your blog. I got interested that’s why I followed you right away.

    See you when I see you…

    love,
    misswickedgirl

    Like

Leave a Reply

